Fri, 05 Mar 2021

Proteas all-rounder Sune Luus will captain the Proteas women ahead of their limited-overs series against Pakistan.

The series, which consists of three ODIs and three T20s, will be played behind-closed-doors at Kingsmead in Durban.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) named on Friday a 18-player squad to take on the Pakistan women as they look ahead to making a strong comeback to international cricket.

Luus will stand in for Dane van Niekerk, who was ruled out of the series due to injury.

CSA confirmed that the 25-year-old Luus will lead the side in both formats.

Proteas Coach Hilton Moreeng said: "I'm excited about this group we have selected, and the players have a great opportunity to continue with the great strides they have made at this level and also opportunities to the young ones.

"Many in the squad have international experience including our captain Sune who has lead us with composure in the past and hopefully will do likewise on this tour. There are several talented youngsters who show exciting potential and giving some of them an opening will not only increase the squad's depth but increase competition for places."

The first of the three-match ODIs is scheduled to get underway on Wednesday, 20 January at Kingsmead (10:00).

Proteas women's squad:

Sune Luus (captain), Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty (wicketkeeper), Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Lizelle Lee, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Nadine de Klerk, Tumi Sekhukhune, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Lara Goodall, Nondumiso Shangase, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Faye Tunnicliffe, Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits

20 January - 1st ODI at 10:00


3 February - 3rd T20I at 15:30

- Compiled by Sport24 staff

Source: News24

More South Africa News

Access More

Sign up for Johannesburg News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!